Dear IAPS members:

The Election Committee of IAPS is pleased to request the participation of the IAPS membership in the election of 8 positions on the Board available for election by members.

The IAPS Board currently comprises 12 members based in the following countries:

  • Ricardo García Mira (Spain)
  • Tony Craig (UK)
  • Clare Twigger-Ross (UK)
  • Caroline Hagerhall (Sweden)
  • Sigrun Kabisch (Germany)
  • Karina Landeros (Mexico)
  • Taciano Milfont (New Zealand)
  • Adriana Portella (Brazil)
  • Petra Schweizer-Ries (Germany)
  • Seungkwang Shon (South Korea)
  • Ian Simkins (UK)
  • Henk Staats (The Netherlands)


Three members of the Board will have served their four year term by summer 2018 and are therefore due to retire or stand for re-election. These are: Seungkwang Shon, Karina Landeros, and Caroline Hägerhäll. In addition, five members of the Board, Ricardo García Mira, Ian simkins, Petra Schweizer-Ries, Clare Twigger-Ross, and Sigrun Kabisch have served the full 8 year period or the maximum period, and must now retire from the Board. There are therefore 8 positions on the Board available for election by members.

Please take into consideration that Board members, whilst volunteers, are responsible for a number of tasks during their mandate. For an overview of the current responsibilities, please take a look at the website: http://iaps-association.org/about-iaps/iaps_board/

The timetable for the election is:
February 3rd, 2018.- Nominations inviting IAPS members to be elected to the IAPS Board sent to the membership (information and form also available for download on the IAPS website).
March 10th, 2018.- Deadline for nominations to be returned to the Nominations Committee
March 31st, 2018.- Election ballot forms and candidate election statements to be mailed to the membership
April 30th, 2018.- Closing date for the receipt of ballot forms
May 10th, 2018.- Announcement of the results of the Election
July 7th, 2018.- Board Meeting in Rome, Italy.

Please find attached a Nomination Form. If you wish to nominate somebody, or you wish to be nominated, please complete the form and include a short election statement of about 400 words of the person being nominated. It would be helpful to the membership if the statement includes: a) your current interests and work in environment-behaviour research/activities; and b) the reason for standing for the Board and how you think you can make a contribution to the work of the Board and the interests of the Association.

In addition, the nominator and seconder should include a short supporting statement on the candidate explaining why this person is appropriate for the Board. The nominee, the nominator and the seconder are required to be paid up members of IAPS in good standing. Please include, if possible, the appropriate membership numbers on the Nomination Sheet.

IAPS welcomes all nominations as a contested election is a sign of a thriving and healthy organisation. You are urged to consider standing for the Board or nominate somebody else so that the Board will be truly representative of the IAPS membership.

The deadline for receipt of nominations is the 10th March 2018. Please return the Nomination Sheet and short Election Statement by E-mail, to the Secretary of IAPS, Dr Tony Craig at his e-mail address: tony.craig@hutton.ac.uk (see the attached Nomination form). Voting ballots, a list of candidates and biographical sketches will be mailed to the membership by 31th March 2018.

Looking forward to hearing from you,

Best regards,

Professor Ricardo García-Mira,
IAPS President
on behalf of the IAPS Board